Skip to content

Kayak Chiropractic.

10/03/2012
For a period of about five days, I was convinced I would not be able to run the Philly marathon at all.
After last Tuesday’s failed run, I committed to taking it easy. I rested on Wednesday and Thursday and ran — timidly — on Friday and Saturday. I shuffled through both runs without a disconcerting degree of pain, but everything still felt tight, jacked up, and discombobulated in a way that promised to become problematic at a faster pace.
Sunday was another rest day, which happened to coincide with a field trip for one of my classes. We were kayaking around some wetlands, and at one point we stopped to investigate a savanna next to the river. The banks were slippery and mucky. I exited my kayak, began hauling it up the slick shore, and subsequently found my feet skidding out from underneath me down the bank. Windmilling to stay upright, I performed a complicated series of breakdance moves in order to prevent a full wipeout.
In the process of saving myself from a muddy butt, I wrenched my entire lower back along with the offending leg, and was treated to a sacroiliac symphony of crackles and pops.
I woke up on Monday morning feeling normal and have been enjoying pain-free runs ever since. Perhaps all I needed in the first place was a good chiropractor.
Would that such serendipitous quick fixes existed for everything.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/03/2012 18:55

    Just like Dr. Homer’s Miracle Spine-O-Cylinder! You should begin accepting money to perform this treatment on people immediately. http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m0uiy3PbIM1qh59n0o1_500.png

  2. 10/03/2012 18:55

    I am glad the non-traditional treatment worked. Good luck with the Philly marathon.

  3. 10/03/2012 20:13

    lucky punk. I’m gonna go put vaseline on my feet and dance in the shower. My chiropractor is clearly being too gentle.

  4. Ewen permalink
    10/04/2012 02:25

    Love it! We could learn something from that — if only there were an accompanying Youtube video!

  5. 10/04/2012 06:30

    I’m glad it worked out! Hope you stay feeling good until marathon time. How many more weeks?

  6. 10/04/2012 12:55

    My chiro has always been able to put me back together.
    Good luck in Philly!!!

  7. 10/05/2012 08:01

    How strangely wonderful! I must say, when I mentioned today that I recognize your gate already, you have a lovely open stride, very relaxed and it seems like you get a lot of distance with each step. Looking fabu, girl! Philly, here you come.

    And btw, I’m not a weird hugger (one of those people who hold people off as a rule) but was too sweaty to give you my all. I did in my mind though. 🙂 Lastly, I want to mention how it still amazes me that I used to know you as that great running blogger who lives in Alaska and now I’m seeing you all the time. What a world! Love it.

Trackbacks

  1. Chiropractic to the rescue… again. « Sweaty Kid.

Leave a Reply

