Skip to content

Still running a lot. Still whining about the weather.

03/04/2012

The past five weeks have produced mileage totals of 67, 78, 82, 82, and 82. I finally started feeling like myself again during that first week at 82, and my legs are back to feeling snappier and up to what I perceive to be normal speed. That 80 mpw area seems to be a sweet spot for me right now.

Racing

On the weekend before Valentine’s day, back when my system was on the tail-end of clearing out the post-marathon fog, I ran in a three-mile race that included an out-and-back on the beach. The experience was entirely a slog, and the sand didn’t help. I finished in 20:13, which I suppose would have put me around 21 minutes for an actual 5K.

Then, last weekend, I found out on Friday night that there was a 5K race scheduled for the next day. Naturally, I was delighted for the opportunity to race, but the extent of my race preparations entailed sleeping over at a friend’s house for a night of carousing . (Not much carousing on my part, honestly, because I’m deathly boring and hate fun.) The next morning I showed up to the race precisely 13 minutes before the gun, hastily registered, quickly pinned on my bib in a way I later realized indicated that I possess the fine motor skills of a preschooler, ran as hard as I could in the remaining time span in an attempt to warm up, and then parked myself at the start line.

I ended up finishing the race in 19:42.  The course was mostly flat, with the second mile acting as an ice sheet that involved a momentum-puncturing hairpin turnaround requiring a very brief spell of walking for any individual hoping to avoid a violent meeting of her coccyx with the ground. Fittingly, I neglected to bring my ice grippers, so I tried to be especially lightfooted and deerlike in dashing along over the ice. Ended up wearing a garmin for this one, for two reasons — A. I wanted to be sure that the course was really at least 5K, and B. I knew I probably wouldn’t have anyone to race (there were two fast guys who took off early on), and my ability to focus in short races like this is quite poor. I think I went out in about 6:15, ran the icy second mile in about 6:30, and the last mile in something faster when I realized I could break 20:00 handily if I picked up my focus.

[As I rifle through some of my options for where to move next, I’m getting kind of excited about the idea of running in races with more than 20-30 people again. I used to be someone you’d never want to have near you with the finish line in sight, but here, I haven’t had the opportunity to kick any other girls down in the last 400m in a long time. On the other hand, I’m going to miss being able to run five races here for the price of one in the lower 48. And honestly, if/when I move, I’ll be sad to no longer be living in the badassest state. Because nowhere is as cool as Alaska. You know it’s true.]

Treadmilling.

Speaking of not being badass and completely failing to weather the elements, I’ve been getting into a real groove with the treadmill runs lately. Luckily, the tendinitis in my foot doesn’t make so much as a peep of pain on a clear road or a treadmill, and it’s obvious now that what aggravated it in the first place — and what continues to make it problematic — is running on snow, ice, and slush. Unfortunately, winter continues to drag on and it’s still snowing/spitting/sleeting or otherwise precipitating in some form every day.

Since I’m mentally fed up with that noise at this point, I logged an unprecedented four runs out of seven on the treadmill this week, and truthfully I loved every single one. I don’t know what it is — maybe it’s the ability to zone out and not worry about my footing, not having to carry or wear my ice grippers, not having to rein in my pace because of the ice, not having to play chicken with snowplows… on Saturday, I ran 16.5 miles on the treadmill in two hours without music and even that positively flew by. How? I don’t know. I can’t tell if I’m getting fitter or if that treadmill is just broken and lying to me, but all the sudden anything between 7.5-8.0 mph is beginning to feel suspiciously easy.

A completely unrelated final paragraph in defense of March.

I know people have mixed feelings about the month of March, but around here it’s pretty sweet because it’s finally EQUINOX MONTH. The daylight is galloping back in chunks of five minutes every day and on March 21st, I will commence bragging to any and all inhabitants of lower latitudes that I, personally, am hoarding all your daylight. And not to go all Rebecca Black obvious on you, but March is great because April, May, and June come afterwards, and those months are unreal here. They’re the clearest months of the year. I can go climb around in the avalanche chutes and pick nettles and devil’s club buds. I can go on hikes after work. I’ll start seeing salmon in the creeks and bears on my runs again. It’s going to be absolutely grand.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. yeshua1964 permalink
    03/04/2012 18:04

    The weather here is not as bad as it is there. I put in 86 miles last week, all on the treadmill. I will still do the treadmill for certain runs no matter the weather. Not getting injured is a very good thing. You are still faster than I am. I see a theme.

  2. 03/04/2012 18:17

    Late spring sounds like a positive fairytale up there; probably complete with talking critters and wildlife! 🙂 I feel the same way about the treadmill as you if winter gets really bad. Sometimes a non-frozen and non-life threatening run where you just zone out is awesome. Congrats on your great 5K!!

  3. 03/04/2012 19:56

    Haha – and I’m all like, March is GREAT! But APRIL, JUNE and JULY come afterward. Ugh. Oh, the south.

    Great job on the consistent high mileage!

  4. 03/04/2012 20:23

    Treadmill runs can be saucy. They force me to go faster than I would while zoning out outside. That 16.5 into hours is fantastic!

  5. 03/05/2012 03:36

    I’m ok with March and April, but despise May, June, July, August, September, October, and sometimes November. I’ve even logged 90+ degrees in December during a heat wave. At least I have a beach.

    I’m jealous of your mileage and the fact that you get to see bears on your runs. (I would freak the hell out!)

  6. yeshua1964 permalink
    03/05/2012 07:17

    I do have a question. Do you think that you can confidently predict, say an outdoor 5k, from your indoor workouts? I know the treadmill is always faster than outdoors, but wondering what your experience has been.

    • 03/05/2012 18:17

      I’m sure there are ways to make accurate predictions from indoor workouts — even if the treadmill isn’t an ideal race simulator, you’re still putting in some kind of work. Honestly — and I know this goes against common thought on the subject — I find true “speed” workouts to be much, much more difficult on the treadmill than they are outside, and I always remind myself not to get discouraged by a crummy treadmill speed workout because I know it won’t feel as tough outside… (whereas busting out a fastish pace on a “regular” run feels easier on a treadmill). Not sure why it happens that way; just my experience.

  7. 03/06/2012 22:08

    You don’t have to rub it in — the mornings are well and truly dark when I head off to work these days. Nice training block and 5k race. Our local races are slightly bigger (70+ on a good day) which is ideal for me (running in the fat part of the field) such that I end up racing a few different people depending on who turns up. I think you’ll enjoy the higher level of competition when you move south (and not slipping over on ice when you run away from the bears).

Leave a Reply

