Skip to content

The thing I dislike most about running.

10/31/2011

The last time I saw the sun was October 2nd.

This is because I live in a rainforest.

I am soaked within moments of stepping out my door for my run most mornings. I stuff my shoes with dry newspaper after every outing. The sun is already rising well after 8am, so I never run without a headlamp and reflective vest. Sometimes I accidentally dash through darkness-disguised mini-Marianas Trench puddles and curse as the water soaks in and up, forgetting that my sneakers have been drenched the entire time anyway, and so the momentary insult of a freshly wet shoe is no worse than the fleeting, strangely delightful anguish of waking up in the morning to throw off my blanket, submit my feet to the icy floor to find body vertical, trade my warm pajamas for cold running tights, and — limbs still soft and sweet with sleep – stumble out the door to chase my breath through the dark for a few hours.

These are ideal running conditions for me. Rain, temperatures in the low 40s, not much wind yet. When the roads ice over and the wind comes back, then maybe I can complain. For now, though, I am nothing but lucky to be out there.

In fact, the only drawback of waking up at agony o’clock in the morning to run in the rain is putting on a sports bra. There is absolutely nothing more harrowing or dreadful on planet earth; it’s like a damn mensa puzzle at 5am. I typically spend a good long 83 seconds simply arranging my appendages so that I’m ready to find the correct holes for my head and arms. Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, putting on a sports bra is horrendous.

On Sundays, the group I run with often goes out to breakfast after our trail run. The guys can all change their shirts in the parking lot and head right in. Me? I have to tote my things into the bathroom and fuss around in there wrestling with the stupid wet sports bra, which at this point has suctioned itself to me like some kind of strangling octopus. Because you can’t go sit around and shoot the breeze at post-run brunch hour if your sweaty sports bra is still on. As we all know, it turns into a death sentence ice vest that leaves you blue lipped and and miserable.

This incoherent post was brought to you by 100% cloud cover.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/01/2011 02:14

    Earlier today I was totally thinking about how easy it is for guys to change after running, swimming, or any other activity that leaves you wanting to change into dry clothes. It isn’t fair at all.

    Good for you for getting out there and running in the rain. The monsoon has settled over us in the past week or so, which means slightly cooler temperatures, but this former cycling hater will continue to be on her bike trainer until she heads home next month.

    • 11/05/2011 13:47

      It tickles me that for all the times I’ve joked that it’s monsoon season in Juneau, you are enduring actual monsoons. Good luck on the bike trainer – that takes some mental fortitude to gut out a workout on, I’d imagine.

  2. 11/01/2011 04:28

    Bravo, SK. Adding this to the arsenal of posts I want to send to all the whiny bitches who run on the treadmill whenever it rains.
    XO

    • 11/05/2011 13:48

      Haha, and then I published a post about how much treadmilling I intend to do this winter, effectively erasing any deserving of a ‘bravo.’ Silly whiny bish.

  3. 11/02/2011 18:51

    Oh dear, the job of extricating oneself from a soaked sports bra. Scary $hit 🙂

    (PS – so glad you are back to posting! began to get worried those bears won.)

    • 11/05/2011 13:50

      I know right?!! My life is hard.

      The good thing about winter is that the bears will be mostly out of the way for a few months…

  4. 11/05/2011 02:34

    The last time I saw the sun was a couple of hours ago. Ideal conditions for me are about 15C, still and sunny — just like we had at 8am this morning, and will do for the next month or so before it warms up to 20C in the mornings.

    Yes, I feel for you re the sports bra. Both getting in and out.

    • 11/05/2011 13:53

      Bahahahaha.

      Also, not gonna lie, 15C/~60*F sounds pretty nice right now. Sometimes I just need to convince myself that I love running in the cold. I mean, I do like it, in a masochistic sort of way, but… yeah. Sometimes it’s a fake it ’til you make it situation.

Trackbacks

  1. Mix Tape Volume 19 | My Running Shorts

Leave a Reply

