Skip to content

Don’t even bother reading this. I’m sick of my own whining.

03/22/2011

The idea that one can take two complete weeks off from running — RICE-ing religiously in the meantime — and then be back to the Injury Management Drawing Board after one glacially-paced jog is completely beyond my powers of comprehension.

How did this happen? How did I let this happen? Why can’t I take my own advice? Didn’t I see this coming?

Sidenote: There’s a 10K this Saturday. A 10K. Wow. Remember when I wanted to break 40:00 at this race?

Now I won’t even be on the line.

Every weekend in April, May, June, July. Races.

Racing! I dreamed about this all winter.

Further channeling my inner two-year-old, it dismantles me that the running and racing world continues whether or not I am healthy enough to participate. Personally, I feel it would be best for all races to be canceled until I can run in them. And I want it to stop being so beautiful outside. And I want the daylight to stop galloping back. Let’s go back to having it be gross and ugly and dark out so that I’ll feel better about being stuck inside going braindead on the cross-training machines. Can we arrange that?

What am I doing wrong here? I don’t think it was unreasonable to test things out after two weeks. With a muscular(?) injury, you eventually have to take a risk and see how things go, right? Turns out things didn’t go very well.

I need to grow the heck up and figure out a way to mentally manage this without having an existential crisis and/or morphing into one of those shrieking toddlers in the grocery checkout aisle.

HELP.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/22/2011 08:06

    I wondered why we hadn’t heard from you in a bit. That really sucks. You have gone to a doctor, right?

  2. 03/22/2011 08:42

    Might be worth a consult with a trainer, if you’ve got that option. Otherwise? I don’t even know. The feeling of being sidelined BLOWS.

    Hang in there, SK.

  3. 03/22/2011 08:55

    So sorry! That sucks; no way around it. I agree with AR that maybe you could consult with a trainer (or sports med. doc) if you haven’t. The racing world should stop without you, at least in Alaska, because you’ve got to be one of the best they’ve got!

    Heal up soon!

  4. 03/22/2011 09:02

    Have you tried the foam roller? I have all sorts of issues up and down my left leg: IT band, Quad, hammy, glut, arch. However, the foam roller has been the one thing that really helped. I hope that you are feeling better soon. Injuries just suck!

    • 03/23/2011 18:17

      I don’t have a foam roller with me right now, but I have “The Stick!” Which I’ve been gingerly using on it. I foam-rolled the heck out of my legs back when I had a bad hip injury a few years ago. I love/hated it!

  5. 03/22/2011 09:07

    have you gone to a doc yet? if not, i’d suggest a sports med doc over your PCP. i hope the weather turns nasty for you so that you don’t feel as bad about not being able to run in the nice weather. i hope everything is alright and i’m only an email away!

  6. 03/22/2011 09:53

    Oh no! Stupid calf! I don’t think you’re doing anything wrong, except that maybe you need an MRI to see if you have a tear. That might be why it’s taking so long to heal.

    • 03/23/2011 18:16

      A parent of one of my students is a doc and runner/athlete. He stopped into my office today and gave things a look. Says all signs and the nature of the pain are consistent with a tear, including the way I injured it.

  7. 03/22/2011 11:51

    I’m really sorry. Hang in there. It sucks to be injured. It sucks to cross train. And it sucks to miss races that you have been dreaming of all winter.

    It seems pretty obvious to me that they should reschedule the racing season around your ability to participate. Duh.

  8. 03/23/2011 02:09

    Possible answer: because you need more than two weeks to heal.
    Possible answer: because your problem is more endemic, and you need to strengthen certain muscles.
    Possible answer: Your first runs back may have to be only two miles.
    Definite answer: You’ll be back. I just did a workout last night with a girl who was sidelined FOR A YEAR. I was in a similar boat. Sure thing, that sucks, especially when you’ve been waiting all winter for your glorious return. I can’t sugar-coat it. And I know that this is not what you want to hear, and I hope to goodness gracious this isn’t the case, but you haven’t ruined yourself. I promise.

    • 03/23/2011 18:13

      I’d like to hire you as my common sense angel to pop up and hover over my shoulder to help me make wise decisions in my running life, if that’s okay with you.

  9. 03/23/2011 03:04

    i’m not a doctor. i don’t know what is going on with you 😦 i don’t have much faith in doctors… but maybe like ^they^ said a trainer or something. we can hold a virtual race to raise funds.

  10. 03/23/2011 13:27

    ((hug)) muscular stuff is the wild card of getting injured, isn’t it? at least bones have a predictable time scale. anyway, I feel you, but running will always be there. even in alaska.

  11. 03/23/2011 17:12

    Really sorry to hear this. So frustrating. Hugs to you.

  12. 03/23/2011 23:19

    Sorry to read this — commiserations with your extending daylight as ours recedes. I’ll side with Sarah. If it’s a tear (sounds like it), could take more than 2 weeks. I remember Bob http://bobs-training.blogspot.com/ had one back in November and he said they can take 2 to 8 weeks to heal. Just hang in there. Don’t whine for the whole 8 weeks if it takes that long 😉

  13. 03/27/2011 03:18

    This sucks. I so feel your frustration. Thing is, it’s going to heal when it’s going to heal. You can’t make that process go faster, but you can do a lot to hinder it (including, I honestly believe, fighting/stressing instead of accepting – not that “acceptance” is easy to accomplish!) Sarah is right: it WILL all be fine, sooner or later, so if you can, focus your energy on that fact and on doing everything you can to let your body heal.

    Sorry, I hope that doesn’t sound all patronizing and blah-blah…wish you tons of luck and hope you can find a “miracle worker” somewhere up there in AK who can help!

    • 03/28/2011 21:03

      It isn’t patronizing! All of these comments are exactly what I need to hear. Injuries are so difficult to evaluate and pay proper attention to when it’s YOUR injury… it often takes another eye to look at the situation and say, “This isn’t the end of the world, and back off before you make things worse, you dope!”

Leave a Reply

