Skip to content

Another lazy Sunday in which running was the most exciting and worthwhile thing I did.

10/24/2010

This day has been a brilliant study in laziness and self-indulgence.

Let’s enjoy a few of the lovely endeavors I spent my mental facilities on today:

1. I updated my About page. Now it is even more comprehensively self-promotive than ever before. It recycles stories and pictures that most of you have already seen and heard at length, but I’m sure it’s still thrilling, if you want to read the banal story of how I stumbled into the drudgery of distance running.

2. I consumed approximately 284 scrumptious Halloween-themed Hershey’s kisses. Nope, hang on. Just found another little orange metal wrapper that somehow attached itself to my sock. Sneaky sucker! Bump that number up to 285.

3. I went for a selfishly long run. I knew that the longer I ran, the more clout I would have for engaging in slothlike behavior for the remainder of the day, allowing me to avoid any Sunday task that doesn’t involve laying on the couch.

4. Keeping with the Halloween spirit, I scared myself silly by indulging my hypochrondriacal tendencies. I’m currently Googling signs and symptoms of Morton’s Neuroma after experiencing an annoying tightness in my third/fourth metatarsal area during the aforementioned long run, which isn’t going away. I’m hopeful that like usual, this will turn out to be nothing. Sometimes it pays to be a nervous nelly.

5. I quit before I could even begin. Yesterday, due to aforementioned hypochondriacal tendencies unrelated to the foot pain, I decided it might be worthwhile to monitor my caloric and nutritional intake for a week. I even made myself up a fancypants Excel spreadsheet and got everything all organized and ready for recording to start today. Then I ate 286 Halloween-themed Hershey’s Kisses and decided my nutritional crusade could start tomorrow instead. Or not at all, ever.

6. Oh yeah, I also grocery shopped. I bought four cans of tuna fish and 23 pounds of Halloween candy. The candy is for trick-or-treaters, yes, it is. I assure you there is not a growing mountain of empty candy wrappers sharing space with me on the couch at this very moment.

Do you ever scare yourself looking up signs and symptoms of running-related injuries that seem to describe your pain?

What’s your favorite type of Halloween candy?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/24/2010 17:08

    i must stay away from webmd because every time i go on there i close the window thinking i’m dying! hahah

    i grocery shopped today too! and walked away with lots of tuna. no halloween candy though (although my fav is reece’s pb cups. the jumbo kind with LOTS of pb). but i did leave the store with lots of baking supplies hahah. that hurt the wallet a bit 🙂

  2. 10/25/2010 03:38

    Yeah, I have convinced myself I’ve been pregnant, had a stress fracture, and a stomach ulcer, likely all at the same time, thanks to the internet doctors. Haha.

    My favorite Halloween candy? Peanut Butter Kisses, or Maryjanes. They are those things in the orange and black wrappers that everyone else in the world hates. After the season, they go on clearance for like a quarter a bag. Haha.

    Going to a real doctor is totally worth the copay b/c you will finally get peae of mind. 🙂 We’ve all been there.

  3. 10/25/2010 07:06

    I’m always Googling my “running injury” symptoms. It is a really bad habit, I’m convinced that some of them worsen due to me overthinking them.

    My favorite Halloween candy is Butterfingers. I like to eat the chocolate off of the outside first, then eat the crunchy peanutbuttery goodness in the middle. Mmmm. Good thing I have no change for the vending machine right now!

  4. 10/25/2010 10:15

    I am on a break from googling my symptoms. It was getting to where I’d feel worse reading what others were saying about themselves haha. I prescribe myself a little Ginger ale now for everything instead.

  5. 10/25/2010 10:31

    Enjoy lazy Sundays to the fullest!

    I like Lindsay’s prescription of ginger ale for everything, seems very wise.

    I’ve gotten a lot of use from googling running symptoms – I think because I look for the self-treatment suggestions, which are pretty much the same across the board – rest, ice, elevation, ibuprofen, compression, massage, stretching, etc.

    Favorite Halloween candy? Mini Snickers. Then afterwards stale candy corn mixed with peanuts. We buy candy corn at Halloween to let get stale for consuption through the following year. It’s always a shock when we have fresh candy corn – a little too sweet and soft.

  6. 10/25/2010 10:38

    Thou shalt never google injury or illness symptoms. It will make you crazy. Enough about that. Let’s move on to chocolate. I like most variations of chocolatey goodness, but snickers, kit kat, twix, and reeses are probably my favorites. I also enjoy coconut-filled delicacies like mounds and almond joy. Thanks for asking 🙂

  7. 10/25/2010 11:20

    All my productivity was over by 1 pm yesterday and then I did nothing. My favorite Halloween candy is mini Reese’s, although I love a good Hershey’s Kiss too.

  8. 10/25/2010 20:29

    okay seriously, the only thing i read that seemed to describe my hip pain was in a copy of Runner’s World. the guy actually LIVED my story, to the letter. seeing doctor after doctor, and no one could help him. then some cracked up doctor told him this pain was due to deep seated “anger as a child”. so it seems i need a psychologist, not a physio.

    my favourite halloween candy is skittles, but ONLY at halloween. (weird.)

  9. 10/26/2010 02:03

    I have to not-google. We all know this. Eight minutes of searching makes me convinced that I have ITBS, runner’s knee, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, and am pregnant. I am glad you had a good, fantastical run. I have often added on miles because I know I will be eating lasagna that night. No judgement there.

  10. 10/26/2010 02:16

    I’ve had to just stop googling injuries, illnesses, and new medications. I’ve thought I had fibromyalgia, lupus, and numerous weird running injuries. I also want to throw out any and all medications given to me.

    I had a pretty lazy sunday, too. I don’t buy Halloween candy, though. Maybe I should…

  11. 10/26/2010 11:30

    Using a spreadsheet to count calories is behavior unbecoming the Unhealthy Living Summit…and if we’re going to wait ’til your ass gets back from A-freaking-laska to have this thing we need your assurance there’ll be none of that going on.

    …although I do like to use long runs as an excuse to eat whatever I want for the rest of the day…as in “I just burned 1,289 calories which entitles me to exactly 16.11 Reese’s peanut butter cups.”

    Dap!

Leave a Reply

